Salim Ali Foundation was set up by four trustees in 2006, and is currently governed by eleven trustees as well as an Advisory Council comprised of scientists, administrators, policy makers and sociologists across India.

1. Dr. V.S. Vijayan (Managing Trustee & Chairman; Former Chairman, Kerala State Biodiversity Board; Founder
Director, SACON an autonomous National Centre of Excellence of the Government of India; Biologist,
Policymaker and analyst)
2. Dr. M.K. Prasad (Former Chairman, Information Kerala Mission; Served as Member, UN Millennium Assessment Board;
Retd. Pro-Vice Chancellor, Calicut University; Environmentalist)
3. Shri. K.M. Chandrasekhar IAS, (Retd. Cabinet Secretary and, Retd. Vice Chairman, Kerala State Planning Board)
4. Shri. S. M. Vijayanand IAS, (Retd. Chief Secretary of Kerala)
5. Dr. C.T.S. Nair (Retd. Executive Vice President, KSCSTE and Principal Secretary, Science and Technology;
Retd. Forest Economist, Food and Agriculture Organization)
6. Dr. V.R. Raghunandanan (Member, Advisory Committee for Solid Waste Management, Govt. of Kerala; HoD, Waste
Management, Integrated Rural Technology Centre; Retd. Associate Professor & HOD, Diary Chemistry, College of
Diary Science and Technology, Mannuthy; Environmentalist & Active worker of KSSP)
7. Ms. S. Usha (Agricultural Expert, Policy Maker and Analyst, Thanal, Thiruvananthapuram)
8. Prof. Dr. N. V. Joshi (Former Chairman, Centre for Ecological Sciences, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore)
9. Dr. Nandini Rajamani (Assistant Professor, Indian Institute of Science, Education and Research;
Formerly Co-Director, IndiaBioscience Programme, National Centre for Biological Science, Bangalore)
10. Prof. V. K. Sasikumar (Retd. Professor of Chemical Engineering, Government Engineering College, Kozhikode;
Formerly Dean and HOD Biotechnology and Biochemical Engineering, Sree Budha College of Engineering, Alappuzha).
11. Dr. S. N. Prasad (Retd. Senior Principal Scientist(SACON, Sálim ali Centre for Ornithology and Natural History,
a National Centre of Excellence of the Government of India, Currently Faculty in IIIT, Hyderabad)

1. Dr. M.K. Prasad (Environmentalist)
2. Late Dr. K.P.S. Chavan (Biologist, Policymaker)
3. Dr. N.P. Balakrishnan (Plant Taxonomist)
4. Dr. V.S. Vijayan (Biologist, Policymaker and analyst)